Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-07-2009, 08:02 PM   #541
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by falconeye Quote
avier's remark when comparing Sigma and Tamron TC mounted on Tamron 70-200
Actually, if I ever said I tried my Sigma 1.4tc on my Tamron 70-200F/2.8, I would have been mistaken because I have never tried this before. I have used it with my Tamron TC and worked well, but that was a while back.

09-08-2009, 01:42 AM   #542
Veteran Member

If this is not the case, then Ben must be correct that most compatible Sigma lenses have a universal rear element which the Sigma TC compensates aberrations for. A fascinating possibility.
I would not go as far to say, that the Sigma tcs would compensate the lens' abberrations. But at least they do not add any visible abberrations as other tcs do, with these lenses. I know, this is all guesswork to some degree, but the long distance between the groups in the Sigma tc, is there for a reason. Also, we should not forget, that the idea of a "matched multiplier" is not Sigma's invention. Vivitar had a dedicated tc for the 70-210/3.8 and 70-150/3.8 back in the 80s.

I think, these dedicated tcs, though visibly superior in performance, never were loved by the photog community, because at the end of the day, they are seen as being too expensive, useable only with one lens or a select few (just look through the discussions in this and other forums). The universal tcs, on the other hand, were/are seen as good value.

Of course an tc could indeed be a compensating element. You know that from the classical Barlow lens, used for telescopes, which sometimes improve image quality considerably, compared to the "naked" telescope.

Ben
09-08-2009, 05:33 AM   #543
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
QuoteOriginally posted by jgredline Quote