Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-04-2012, 06:23 PM   #1
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
Helios 44-2 and Flare

I've been using the Helios 44-2 for a couple of months, and I really love it, but notice an extreme abundance of flare, with even modest side light. It seems to be much worse at f16 than at f2. For example, here is a picture of my hobby desk @ f11 or f16. The only side light is the glow of my monitor and it looks terrible:

Using my hand as a makeshift hood fixes it (yes, those are my fingers in the photo, I tried to get as much "hood" as possible):

What I have noticed is if I look at the lens at an angle, it appears the reflections are coming from the edge of the glass. Here's an example of what I mean, near the middle of the lens, there is a grainy reflection all along the outside edge of what I think are the lens elements:

My question is if all Helios 44-2's are this bad for flare, and would a 44-3 be appreciably better? I guess a second question is if the lens can be disassembled and those areas painted flat black or something?

09-04-2012, 06:37 PM   #2
Veteran Member

If you have the same version as me, you'll notice the blades are not painted matte black, they're shiny metal. That means you get reflections at smaller apertures depending on the angle.
09-04-2012, 10:25 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
That lens needs a deep hood.

Last edited by Ikarus; 09-04-2012 at 10:57 PM.
09-04-2012, 10:39 PM   #4
Site Supporter

i have noticed light leaks through the mount when the sun is bright and the angle is just right. This may sometimes look like traditional flare so check for that too.
good luck.

Last edited by mikeSF; 06-22-2013 at 10:11 AM.
09-04-2012, 10:48 PM   #5
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I have a 44-2 and it is fairly prone to flare - a lens hood is essential for outdoors and is still worth having on for indoors too!