Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 3 Likes Search this Thread
09-04-2012, 10:59 PM   #1

New lens for zoom (K-x)?

Hello!

I'm new to using DSLRs, and I was thinking about getting a new lens in a few days. I've had my k-x for over a year now and have decided that I want some sort of telephoto (maybe?) lens so I can zoom in on stuff far away. I know absolutely NOTHING about lenses or what the numbers mean. Any help/suggestion is greatly appreciated! My biggest problem with the lens that came with the K-X kit was always that I couldn't take a picture of anything far away. I felt that my pictures were too crowded and messy and... it just wasn't what I wanted my camera to do.

My budget would probably be under $300? Maybe a little more?
Thank you!

Last edited by Ambrosial; 09-04-2012 at 11:17 PM.
09-04-2012, 11:11 PM - 1 Like   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
The Pentax DA 55-300 gets great reviews, and you can get one for less than 300 second hand if you are not afraid of buying used.
https://www.pentaxforums.com/lensreviews/SMC-Pentax-DA-55-300mm-F4-5.8-Zoom-Lens.html
09-04-2012, 11:17 PM   #3

Original Poster
Thank you for the reply! I will look into that!

Here are two that I was just looking at, could you give me your opinion on these?:
Amazon.com: Sigma 70-300mm f/4-5.6 DG Macro Telephoto Zoom Lens for Pentax and Samsung SLR Cameras: Camera & Photo
Amazon.com: Tamron AF 70-300mm f/4.0-5.6 Di LD Macro Zoom Lens for Pentax Digital SLR Cameras: Camera & Photo
09-04-2012, 11:51 PM   #4
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I use the Tamron myself and I find it to be quick and sharp.
it has a useful close focus feature as well.
Its only drawback is a tendency to show a bit of purple fringe in high contrast areas but it is easily corrected in post process.
I feel it is an excellent value as the price is very reasonable.

I don't know the Sigma so I'll let someone else comment.