Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-07-2012, 02:22 AM   #1
Forum Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
A beginner seeking help on first lenses with first DSLR (K-30)

Hey there, just a quick introduction as I hope to do a slightly more formal one once my photography journey actually kicks-off with a DSLR purchase!
My name is Eli, I live in New Zealand, and I am thinking of buying my first DSLR soon.

As for my experience with DSLRs, I have used friends' cameras, but have never owned one myself. As for my experience with photography, I am not a complete novice: for several months I have been reading about photography and in particular the use of shutter speed, ISO and aperture. I have taken some nice images using my point and shoot and have been checking this forum a lot (amongst others) . I think I do reasonably well with a camera in my hands. I seem to frame shots relatively well naturally- after reading about the rule of thirds a few months ago, I went back and realised I was using it often just because it looked better to my eye without knowing of a specific 'rule'.

At the end of the day I am still a beginner, I would just consider myself a "knowledgeable" beginner.

I am considering buying the K-30 from Pentax Singapore Webstore as they seem to have a pretty good price (850 SGD) with a free delivery (don't worry, NZ customs will get their share on it so I won't actually get it for that price ). I chose the K-30 as it is a camera I think I could grow into, I have read about it a lot, have checked and compared for months different camera brands and models and my research has lead me here!