Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-12-2012, 09:12 AM   #1

Image Wide Angle 28mm f2.8

I'm new to all this so I might come as ignorant...

I just bought these lens cheap from craigslist thinking I could find an adapter for it but I don't know how to find what kind of mount the lens have.
And I can't find any infos on these lens. When I search for it, Vivitar 28mm f2.8 keeps popping up. They look fairly similar. Are they the same?

Sorry if I posted this in the wrong section!

Thanks for helping!

09-12-2012, 09:42 AM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I found one review of this lens here on PF: Image 28mm f/2.8 Lens Reviews - Miscellaneous Lenses - Pentax Lens Review Database
I own a copy of this lens, however mine has a 52mm filter thread. Mine was cheap, and a bit worn, but I'm pretty happy with its IQ. I've also heard that these are rebadged Vivitar lenses, but most, if not all Vivitars were actually made by Kiron, Cosina & others. I can't see your photos well enough to tell what the mount is...maybe Nikon?
09-12-2012, 09:45 AM   #3
Inactive Account

Photos: Albums
Looks like Minolta MD mount.
09-12-2012, 10:16 AM   #4

Original Poster
Thanks a lot guys.

How should I take the picture for you guys to verify what kind of mount it is? (If it's not Minolta MD)

09-12-2012, 10:32 AM   #5
Inactive Account

I can only think of two bayonet mounts that have a notch in one of the tabs like that, Yashica and Minolta, the Yashica mount has more than one aperture coupling. Also, the Minolta's notch faces up when mounted, towards the aperture markings.
09-12-2012, 10:34 AM   #6
Veteran Member

Sorry, I don't know enough about mounts to tell you anything about your lens.