Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-17-2012, 06:19 PM   #1
Forum Member

K-30_Ready to Buy_need Lens choice help please

Hi All,
I'm a newbie to the forum and Pentax but ready to make the plunge into a quality DSLR after many years using "prosumer" models. I love the new K-30 Blue bomb but am having difficulty deciding which lens or lenses, to go with it. Read enough disappointing reviews of the kit 18-55mm lens to pass on that but not sure where to turn. Most of my photography interests are for landscape, macro and wildlife pics. The reviews for the 16-45mm lens are really good but I don't understand why it is not mentioned in the K-30 Lens lineup here on the forum? It seems like it would be perfect for landscape and macro use. The 18-135 mm lens seems a good choice for a walk around lens but there are just as many negatives mentioned as positives.
Am I better off getting a 200mm or 300 mm prime lens for when I do wildlife pics?

Will much appreciate any and all commentary....in fact, anxiously awaiting your replies!

Also, is there a price advantage buying the camera through the forum via Adorama/B&H?

Thanks!

Mr. Yo
Rutledge, PA

09-17-2012, 06:29 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
QuoteOriginally posted by Mr_Yo Quote
Hi All,
Read enough disappointing reviews of the kit 18-55mm lens to pass on that but not sure where to turn.
It's not THAT bad. It's just not fantastic.

QuoteQuote:
The reviews for the 16-45mm lens are really good but I don't understand why it is not mentioned in the K-30 Lens lineup here on the forum?
The 16-45 does not come as part of the package with the k-30. In the lens guide, it's technically in the same spot as the DA*16-50, which is more expensive and a bit better (and WR). At 0.26x magnification, it's not really a macro lens, but it'll do pretty well. It's a good lens - I would highly suggest it.

QuoteQuote: