Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-18-2012, 07:45 PM   #1
Inactive Account

Photos: Gallery
new 560mm versus actual high quality telescope

Hi All,

I'm a professional astronomer, and I was fairly gobsmacked at the price of the new 560mm. Compare it to a high quality Meade of similar optical design (triplet APO refractor) and physical aperture size (above 10cm) at only $3,000:

Meade Instruments Corporation - 130mm ED TRIPLET APO #0507-00-05

We don't have this telescope where I work (all mirrors for outreach), but it has ED glass so the raw materials don't look miles apart. Flip-side, I know that optical telescopes like this usually have unforgivably large aberrations since our eye is a poor optical device and your average amateur astronomer is no-way near as critical of IQ as a pixel peeping camera buff. E.g. despite the optical flaws we use Dobsonians a lot for outreach just because they are such cost efficient light-buckets- photographers much prefer IQ to pure lens speed.

Obviously this scope is missing the weather sealing and auto-focus (and closer focus) abilities of the Pentax 560. I'd be curious as to how much cheaper the Meade is due to volume- I'm sure they build a lot more of these things per year than they will the 560.

Overall, I'm wondering if they priced purely in relation to high end rival lenses (which have a much more complicated and expensive optical design), i.e. are Pentax's margins on this thing humongous? That's the downside of a lack of K-mount competition for sure.

Cheers,

Aaron

09-18-2012, 08:50 PM   #2
Pentaxian

There's a similar comparison of the DA560 to telescopes at https://www.pentaxforums.com/forums/pentax-slr-lens-discussion/199408-confirm...al-design.html.
09-18-2012, 08:54 PM   #3
gtl
Veteran Member