Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-15-2012, 10:52 AM   #1
Forum Member

Can you help with my lens list?

I'm a new portrait photographer, I've used Pentax for many years, using my Mom's k1000 in high school. I'd like to buy some new lenses and have a list of what I want, I think, can you help me determine which one to get first? If I should change my mind on any?

I have a 50mm 1.2 and I love it for newborn shoots. I'm having a terrible time getting it to be tack sharp, especially for anyone I'm not right up on. I don't know what I'm doing wrong! The 50mm 1.8 seems to be the closest with AF. I love what the 50mm 1.2 can do, I hate that I'm having such a hard time making it happen. I've attached 3 pictures to demonstrate, two newborn and one Senior. There has been some sharpening on her eyes, and softening of skin and sharpening on the first newborn. The second newborn is my son when he was a newborn, I'd just gotten the camera and there's no sharpening.

Anyhow, my list is

50mm 1.8
77mm 1.8 or 70mm 2.4
85mm 1.4 (Rokinon, there's no way I can afford the pentax one)

Thanks for your help!

Attached Images

10-15-2012, 11:13 AM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

try the FA 50 f/1.4 instead of the DA f/1.8. The 77mm 1.8 or 70mm 2.4 are both amazing portrait lenses but they do have pretty long minimum focusing distances so it might not be as convenient for newborn shots.
10-15-2012, 11:17 AM   #3
Forum Member

Original Poster
Thanks, I'm pretty well planning to only use 50mm lenses for newborns! Is the difference in the 1.4 worth the cost difference? I'm on a very limited budget, unfortunately.
10-15-2012, 11:19 AM   #4

Photos: Gallery
I can't give you first hand info about your list but from from the reviews and user experience, you would not go wrong with your list.
I would give you advice to get focusing screen for you manual lenses and always wait for focus confirm (green hexagon).

Good luck!