Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-07-2008, 08:17 PM   #1

Vivitar 28-85 focus problems

I purchased a vivitar 28-85 off Ebay. I get the lens and take it out and it will not focus. Also it will not focus down in macro, it just stops. Is there a timing issue or is this lens junk? I can focus on an object but it has to be with in a couple of feet and I have to focus by moving back and forth. Here are a couple of pictures of the lens. Should I just try to see if the seller would take it back because he misrepresentated the lens in his add?

Also I am very new to all of this so yeah I probably made a mistake buying this lens and did not know better but at the same time if I post on the forum about every lens I am interested in on Ebay people would get sick of it in a hurry I am sure
Louis

Attached Images
View Picture EXIF
NIKON D40  Photo 
View Picture EXIF
NIKON D40  Photo 
View Picture EXIF
NIKON D40  Photo 
View Picture EXIF
NIKON D40  Photo 

Last edited by cajuncutter; 02-07-2008 at 09:44 PM.
02-07-2008, 09:20 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
It's probably normal for that lens

A zoom isn't a true Macro lens, and rarely focus closer than a foot. I have a couple which show a macro setting but have to be held a meter or further away.
02-07-2008, 09:39 PM   #3

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by little laker Quote
It's probably normal for that lens

A zoom isn't a true Macro lens, and rarely focus closer than a foot. I have a couple which show a macro setting but have to be held a meter or further away.
Ok I don't get the ? As I stated I am new to this and wouldn't know the inside . If you wouldn't mind elaborate for me please. I would like to learn and am willing to listen if someone could give me a straight answer.
02-07-2008, 09:45 PM   #4

Original Poster
Here is a picture at around 30 mm on the lens and as focused as it would get.

Attached Images

02-07-2008, 10:25 PM   #5
Veteran Member