Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-27-2012, 04:41 PM   #1
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
K-5 lens info

I just posted this question in the K-5 threads, before seeing this section, if OK I thought I would repost it here.

I am new to Pentax and will be buying the K-5 II soon. Right now I am looking through the "Market Place" for used lens for sale and I see smc, K, M, A, DA, M42,and other markings to describe the model lens. What should I be looking for to know that a particular lens will mount to the K-5 without adapters? In some cases I can copy & paste the lens info for a Google search, but even that does not tell me all the time.
Thank you for any help.

10-27-2012, 04:45 PM   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
QuoteOriginally posted by Wingincamera Quote
I just posted this question in the K-5 threads, before seeing this section, if OK I thought I would repost it here.

I am new to Pentax and will be buying the K-5 II soon. Right now I am looking through the "Market Place" for used lens for sale and I see smc, K, M, A, DA, M42,and other markings to describe the model lens. What should I be looking for to know that a particular lens will mount to the K-5 without adapters? In some cases I can copy & paste the lens info for a Google search, but even that does not tell me all the time.
Thank you for any help.
K, M, A, DA will be able to fit your K-5 II without adapters, the M42 lenses requires a M42 adapter.
10-27-2012, 05:03 PM   #3
Site Supporter

Here is a compatibility chart that might help: The Pentax Camera Lens Compatibility Chart

Basically you can use any k-mount lens on the k-5 although for off brands it might be good to ask as there are a few that can cause trouble particularly those that have the "Ricoh Pin". But if it is a Pentax lens it will work within the limits of the combined hardware (camera / lens).