Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-08-2008, 07:52 AM   #1
Veteran Member

In need of lens advice - Help me Obi-One

Hi All,

I’m new to the world of digital slr and have just put a deposit on my first d/slr (round of applause)…the Pentax K10D – more than enough camera for a newbie like me to learn the craft on. The camera is packaged with 2 lenses: Sigma 18-50 f/3.5-5.6 DC & Sigma 55-200 f/4.5-5.6 DC, at only AUD$195 extra than buying the K10D body only. However, after reading many photo magazines and posts on this site, I’m wondering if I should forget the package lenses and spend a bit more (not a lot more) on getting some better quality glass?? And if so, I’m finding there are TOO many options and which option is the best for me???...This is where I need your assistance.

What I’ll be taking photos of:
*I’ll be travelling in the near future – landscapes, cityscapes, people, night/low light
*When not travelling, same as above + some sports…will experiment with close up in the future
*I’d like the option of going up to 250-300mm, if needed…will need for sports and some travel.

One lens I know I want is an ultra wide angle. The Sigma 10-20 sounds like a winner over the Tamron (although slightly cheaper in Oz) and Pentax (too expensive). Any comments welcome

Now things get confusing for me.
My Options:
#1 - Package lenses stated above
#2 – Pentax or Tamron (w Macro) 18-250
#3 – Sigma 17-70 macro + Tamron or Sigma 70-300 macros
#4 – Tamron 17-50 + either above 70-300 or wait for the Pentax 55-300 DA
#5 - Wait for new Pentax 18-55 II and 55-300…only buying on good reviews
#6 –Any other suggestions you may have