Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-10-2012, 12:51 AM   #1
Forum Member

Questions on lens set

I'm a new portrait photographer, working on building my lens set up. I'm currently using the k-r but once I have my lenses will be looking at the k30 unless something awesome and affordable for me pops up.
So, you know I have the kit lens, I also have a film era 50 mm f2, now I thought at first it was the 1:1.2 but its just the 1:2. I think I'm looking at
50mm f 1.7
35mm 2.4 AL
43mm fa 1.9
85mm 1.4 Rokinon

Do I have anything redundant on my list? I shoot babies, kids, families, maternity and engagement sessions now, I'd like to do boudior at some point and love to do birth photography. I've heard good things about the 77mm, is it better than what I'm considering? I dislike zoom lenses.

11-10-2012, 02:15 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
I think your list should be something like this (what I'd do): 35/2.4, then Tamron 17-50 to replace your kit lens, then Samyang (or Rokinon, whatever is sold over there) 85/1.4, then new camera, then replace 50/2.
11-10-2012, 03:26 AM   #3
Veteran Member

IMO, the 35, 43 and 50 are all too close to each other. Is there any particular reason you dislike zooms (measure-bating doesn't count as a reason btw )?For portrait work, you really only need 2 lenses: a wide and a tele.

What I'd recommend for people starting out would be a solid budget kit:
Kit lens as your wide-normal (best lens IMO for flash/daytime shooting)
Rokinon 85mm as a tele
Maybe a sigma 30 if you find yourself needing something fast and wide-ish

The k-30 would be a sweet, but I gotta throw a vote for the k-5 if you know how to take advantage of the 14-bit RAW for on-location work. If you want to shoot professionally at some point, you really should shoot with dual-bodies, partly for redundant backup, partly for not having to switch lenses so you can work faster.