Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-17-2012, 11:24 AM   #1

Update on my DA 55 1.4 from adorama

I got the lens yestarday like I reported on the other thread, I'm not an expert in how to test a lens formally but I've found the lens is back focusing, af fine adjustment of -8 - 10 helps a lot, but even then it still misses sometimes.

ALso I find it almost unusable at 1.4 , my takumar 50 1.4 is much sharper at 1.4, missfocus and I knew it was gonna be soft but the amount of purple fringing is off the hook. Pretty sharp from 1.8 on when in focus.

My d fa 100 wr leaves this lens on the dirt when it comes to af accuracy and the focusing on that lens is pretty slow , that doesn't bother me, I just want accuracy.

Should I send the lens back :/ and is is supossed to be softer than a the tak at 1.4

11-17-2012, 11:48 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Sounds like you got a dud, sorry.
11-17-2012, 11:58 AM   #3

how is in focusing in LV, if is same You have lemon
11-17-2012, 12:05 PM   #4
Pentaxian

QuoteOriginally posted by Vindemiatrix Quote
I got the lens yestarday like I reported on the other thread, I'm not an expert in how to test a lens formally but I've found the lens is back focusing, af fine adjustment of -8 - 10 helps a lot, but even then it still misses sometimes.

ALso I find it almost unusable at 1.4 , my takumar 50 1.4 is much sharper at 1.4, missfocus and I knew it was gonna be soft but the amount of purple fringing is off the hook. Pretty sharp from 1.8 on when in focus.

My d fa 100 wr leaves this lens on the dirt when it comes to af accuracy and the focusing on that lens is pretty slow , that doesn't bother me, I just want accuracy.

Should I send the lens back :/ and is is supossed to be softer than a the tak at 1.4
I am a bit confused; if your lens is back focus, wouldn't you do a +8 or +10 instead of -8 or -10? I could be wrong...

11-17-2012, 12:56 PM   #5

Original Poster