Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-24-2012, 01:12 PM   #1

M-Lens aperture blades works on film and do not on digital?

Hi, I have an used SMC M-35/2.8 and I just noticed, that when I mount it on my K-30 the aperture blades stays in the same position (wide open) no matter what I set on lens - I pushed the green button and shutter speed was set to 1/1000s while wide open. I took the shot and set f22, hit the green button and still the same 1/1000s and the picture taken is the same...

BUT!! When I mounted it to my ME Super, aperture works flawlessly

Maybe I'm missing something as I'm new to Pentax, because when I look at my 18-55 dismounted, the aperture blades are fully closed and they are open when I pull the lever. The M lens works the opposite way - it is wide opened and after pulling the lever the aperture blades are closed. And the default position of the lever is different.

Unfortunately I do not have any other M nor DA lenses to check out if my copy of M lens is faulty. Thank you very much for comments.

11-24-2012, 01:19 PM   #2
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
Two questions.

Do you have the K-30 set to M mode?

Do you have Using Aperture Ring set to 'Permitted' on the K-30?

The Green Button will only stop down the lens in M mode. In any other mode it will only meter wide open.

Last edited by boriscleto; 11-24-2012 at 01:24 PM.
11-24-2012, 01:23 PM   #3
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Follow these instructions and everything should work:
https://www.pentaxforums.com/forums/pentax-lens-articles/110657-how-use-meter...k-x-k-7-a.html

Adam
PentaxForums.com Webmaster (Site Usage Guide | Site Help | My Photography)