Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-25-2012, 02:14 AM   #1

Photos: Albums
What to buy next?

Good day,

I have a wishlist. On that wishlist there' s the Pentax 31mm F1.8, the Pentax-FA* 85mm F 1:1,4 and a wide angle, super wide to be honest (reason why I initiated this thread) .

First of all, I don' t consider it as the start of LBA, cause I think that aldough a photographer takes the photo, a good lens helps him in the way a good car helps a good race driver win the race. All cars turn corners, brake and what not, they can even finish the race, but it' s important to finish first. Thus it' s not a want as a need (this part was meant to be a joke- hopefully my shrink and account saw it this way) .

Ok, seeing that I am still a beginner, I still am improving thus this thread is meant for the future, when I will raise enough money and hopefully enough skill to buy and use the lens.

I sometimes take landscapes (cityscapes, street photos, square shots, call them as you wish; haven' t been able to reach the mountains to take true landscapes) , it' s soothing for me (I want to engage in erotic photos, but lack the skill and mostly the subjects; but there' s still some time for that as well) . Some examples of what I took with the standard kit lens SMC 18-55 mm F3.5-4.5 can be seen lower in this thread or in my gallery. But I think it ain' t enough, I want something sharper thus have decided to finally raise the money for one (not just plan it) . I want to raise the money in the following year or so, for price drops. Max budget would be 700$ (be it new, or SH in mint condition) .

I need your opinion what should I get:

The SMC Pentax-DA 15mm F4 ED AL Limited or the SMC Pentax-DA 12-24mm F4 ED AL [IF] ?I' ve read the reviews on both of the lenses but honestly I need a personal opinion from more experienced guys what and why should I?

Camera used Pentax K5.