Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-28-2012, 06:17 AM   #1

Newbie Question on Lenses

Hello,
I am an amateur just learning to compose a photograph. I purchased a K-5 on the bay with the kit lens, and have begun classes in photography. I chose a Pentax because of the reputation of the camera(s) and because of the backwards compatibility for lenses. Since I got the K-5, I have been given some lenses that I believe are either duplicates or too specialized for me at this time. Would any of you fine folks kindly tell me which ones I should keep as good lenses to learn with and which ones I could part with that someone else would use?
Take it easy on the newbie. I decided to shoot in manual only, forcing myself to understand how to get the exposure correct for the shot. I can learn the power of the camera afterwards. This may be flawed thinking, but in my mind, understanding how the camera/exposure process works before learning what this fantastic camera can do is akin to learning the driving process before choosing a car.
Anyway, if you folks could let me know which lenses to keep that would give me the broadest range in which to learn, I would certainly appreciate some guidance.

SMC Pentax DA (Kit Lens) 18-55mm

SMC Pentax-A 1:2 50mm
SMC Pentax-A 1:2.8 28mm
SMC Pentax-FA 1:4.7-5.8 100-300mm
SMC Pentax-F 1:3.5-4.5 28-80mm
Tonkina AF 1:3.5-4.5 20-65mm
Kiron 1:4 80-200mm f/4.5 Macro
Auto Chinon 1:1.9 50mm

Thank you!!

Planewood1

11-28-2012, 06:43 AM   #2

Photos: Albums
Welcome to the board! In order to get more exposure to your question, I am moving your post to the lens section.
11-28-2012, 06:57 AM - 1 Like   #3
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
Hi Planewood1 and welcome,
If I were in your position I would keep:
QuoteOriginally posted by planewood1 Quote
SMC Pentax DA (Kit Lens) 18-55mm
SMC Pentax-A 1:2 50mm
SMC Pentax-A 1:2.8 28mm
SMC Pentax-FA 1:4.7-5.8 100-300mm