Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-13-2012, 10:53 AM   #1
Forum Member

Understanding the controls on Pentax FA100mm f2.8 Macro lens

Hi Experts, Today I got a used Pentax FA100mm f2.8 macro lens and this's the first time i'm using the macro lens on my K-r. There're two controls(knobs) 'focus range' and 'clamp' on this lens. I hardly understand why they are ans how to use them? I couldn't even find a useful info on net. Can anybody explain clearly about this lens and its controls. I'm a beginner and can understand moderate technical terms. Also, I couldn't find any difference between this macro lens and a standard 105mm takumar lens, when I test few shots.
Thanks in advance,

12-13-2012, 11:03 AM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by vass Quote
Hi Experts, Today I got a used Pentax FA100mm f2.8 macro lens and this's the first time i'm using the macro lens on my K-r. There're two controls(knobs) 'focus range' and 'clamp' on this lens. I hardly understand why they are ans how to use them? I couldn't even find a useful info on net. Can anybody explain clearly about this lens and its controls. I'm a beginner and can understand moderate technical terms. Also, I couldn't find any difference between this macro lens and a standard 105mm takumar lens, when I test few shots.
Thanks in advance,
I believe its minimum focus is closer than a standard lens, hence the term Macro.

Also the one control is a focus limiter to prevent hunting, based on my reading about the newer version that failed to include the limiter.
12-13-2012, 11:03 AM   #3
Veteran Member

clamp simply almost lock the focus ring, no idea about the other one.
12-13-2012, 11:31 AM - 1 Like   #4
Veteran Member