Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-30-2012, 01:03 PM   #1

Zeiss 35-70 f3.4 vs f3.5?

Hey eveyone!

First of all, I'm the biggest Zeiss noob on the planet so please forgive me if I'm wasting your time

So, I was thinking of getting a copy of Contax/Yashica mount Zeiss 35-70 f3.4 to be used with my K-5. I've heard the micro contrast of this particular lens is phenomenal, which is why I've decided to get one. Sadly, it seems like there's no C/Y to pentax k mount adapter available, right? I did search some forums and I managed to find a few tutorials of how to convert a C/Y lens to K mount. However, as I'm not good with any tools and doing that sort of stuff, I've decided not to go for it.

What I've just found out, there's a Zeiss Jena 35-70 f3.5 lens - which is, btw, much cheaper than the f3.4 - but I don't know anything about it and I couldn't find much info about it either...

So, the question is what's the difference between the Zeiss 35-70 f3.4 and the 35-70 f3.5 lenses?

Anyone?

12-30-2012, 02:50 PM   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by dof Quote
So, I was thinking of getting a copy of Contax/Yashica mount Zeiss 35-70 f3.4 to be used with my K-5. Sadly, it seems like there's no C/Y to pentax k mount adapter available, right?
Check out Leitax:

Vario-Sonnar 35-70 on Pentax

QuoteOriginally posted by dof Quote
What I've just found out, there's a Zeiss Jena 35-70 f3.5 lens - which is, btw, much cheaper than the f3.4 - but I don't know anything about it and I couldn't find much info about it either...

So, the question is what's the difference between the Zeiss 35-70 f3.4 and the 35-70 f3.5 lenses?
The f/3.4 is the real McCoy.
The f/3.5s were badge-engineered lenses made by Japanese manufacturers like S i g m a for the East German Zeiss brand.
12-30-2012, 02:58 PM   #3
Pentaxian

Photos: Albums
both are very different in quality and in optical aspect.