Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-03-2013, 09:10 AM   #1

Need help picking a prime low light lens - good autofocus

I have a Pentax K100D. I have two young daughters that I take photos of inside the house. I've been using my manual 50mm f2 for taking indoor shots, but I'm not very good at focusing quickly - particularly when the girls are moving around etc. Maybe I'm just trying to squeeze too much of the low light capabilities and having it wide open at f2 making it difficult to focus. But I'm wondering if there's a fast lens that has a great autofocus. I was looking at the FA 50mm 1.7 and the DA 50mm 1.8. I also looked at the FA 50mm 1.4, but I've read that you need a hood for that one - not a big deal I guess, but I like the idea of a small lens. I'm trying to stay less than $300 but would entertain more expensive option. I'd also be using it outside as an all-around lens. I'm just a amateur so I don't need anything fancy. Also not sure how much the autofocus is more about my camera or the lens. I wish we had a place around here to rent lenses. I'm in Salem, OR.

thanks

01-03-2013, 09:27 AM   #2
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Unfortunately there is no lens that can help the K100D perform in low light. I would save up for a used K5 with kit/ WR lens.
My $0.02.

Last edited by Ex Finn.; 01-03-2013 at 09:33 AM.
01-03-2013, 09:36 AM   #3
Site Supporter

QuoteOriginally posted by schnur07 Quote
I wish we had a place around here to rent lenses
You can rent here. CameraLensRental.com - Your online source for lens rentals and camera rentals
01-03-2013, 09:36 AM   #4
Site Supporter

Photos: Albums
Low-Light, Fast A/F?

Hello Schnur07, Welcome to the Forum!
The first lens that came to mind after reading your post is the DA 35mm f/2.4 AL.