Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-07-2013, 08:44 PM   #1
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
SMC Pentax-A 70-210mm F4 question

I am new to Pentax, with a K-5 II and purchased an older SMC Pentax-A 70-210mm F4 Zoom lens. While the lens appears to be in excellent shape, I have been unable to figure out how to unlock the lens barrel so it will zoom between the 70 & 210mm range. It is locked at the 70mm end (I am assuming that the barrel zooms longer for the extended range).

One other thing, to mount & use the lens I followed the instructions I found here to mount it on the camera:
Shooting manual lenses on Pentax DSLRs « robertsdonovan.com
Everything went fine, except I did not get a prompt on the rear LCD display to enter the focal length used when I turned on the camera. SR is turned on. I will read over that again, error is probably something I am not doing. I can change the aperture and exposure appears to correct.

Any help with releasing the barrel?

Will

01-07-2013, 09:19 PM   #2

You are likely in Macro mode. Turn the focusing collar to move the green Macro label away from the 70 label (turn the focusing collar clockwise when looking at it from the back of the lens.) That should allow you to zoom by pushing/pulling the focusing collar.
01-07-2013, 09:39 PM   #3
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Original Poster
I have rotated the focusing ring both directions until it stops and still can not pull the collar out. I tried pulling with a lot of pressure, but no joy. From fully compressed it will pull out about 1/4" before stopping. When stopped I can just see the very bottom of the 150 markings. You mention the 70 label, I can't see that at all. At the bottom below the collar is the 210mm label, so I assume the 70 must be hidden under the collar.
01-07-2013, 09:44 PM   #4
Closed Account