Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-11-2013, 06:10 AM   #1

Lens for landscape night shooting of the stars

Hi

I am a relative newbie only ever used kit lens that came with the camera. I am fortunate to live under some dark skies which has got me interested in photographing the night sky. I am own a k10D but will eventually upgrade to K-5.

I am looking for a fast prime lens for landscape shots for whole night sky. Not sure what to get. I was looking at
sigma 28mm f/1.8 but not sure. The faster the lens the longer I can leave the exposure before star trails become a factor.

Advice most welcome

Thank you

01-11-2013, 06:34 AM   #2

Look into the IQ of the Tamron 17 - 50 f/2.8. It takes awesome night shots and on the K5 at ISO 100 no noise. The other lens to look at is the Pentax DA 15Ltd. It is a pancake lens. I don't have that lens but want to get it and I have seen remarkable night shots with it.
01-11-2013, 07:37 AM   #3
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
The reason why fisheye lenses were initially developed was to photograph the entire night sky within a single image (horizon to horizon in all directions). The fisheye constitutes one type of lens, the other type - rectilinear or normal lenses (with out the fisheye distortion) will vary in the amount of sky captured.