Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-30-2013, 11:25 PM   #1

Photos: Albums
DA 16-50 SDM Failed do I return for refund or get repaired

I was so excited to be getting this lens, This was my first big $$ purchase..even though I had read the reviews and the sdm failure seemed to be hit and miss, I decided to go ahead an order it. I got it in the mail today and eagerly got home only to find that it wont autofocus. so dissapointed tonight . I purchased it from a reputable dealer in Canada or so I thought, it was rated as 8+(90-99% of original finish. Used very little, but obviously used. No major marring of the finish or brassing. Optics perfect. Mechanics perfect.) The front of the lens where I would set my distance(forgive me, total newbie here) just spins right around so I think something is obviusly broken besides the fact that it wont autofocus. the packaging of the lens wasnt the greatest, and I am debating about should I just return the darn thing and get my money back, or should I send it in for repair. If I send it away for repair, does anyone know approx how long this will take here in Canada? and with the packaging being questionable, it was rolling around in the box a fair amount even though it was wrapped in bubble wrap and then had the plastic air bags in the box, a couple of them were deflated when I received the package. Is there the potential for even more damage that I may not be seeing? Also if I do send it away, have they really fixed the issue with the SDM? Thanks for any input

01-31-2013, 12:00 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
If the distance scale is moving, I don't think the SDM is broken. Message the seller, it was probably messed up during shipping, and even if it didn't have insurance, so long as you paid via paypal, buyer is responsible for broken shipments.
01-31-2013, 12:15 AM   #3
Veteran Member