Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-02-2013, 08:17 PM   #1
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
SMC Pentax K 200mm F2.5

I recently got a hold on a SMC Pentax K 200mm F2.5

SMC Pentax 200mm F2.5 Reviews - K Prime Lenses - Pentax Lens Reviews & Lens Database

I am a newbie (hobbyist) in the pentax/DSLR world (since april 2012), I own a K20D + a bought a K5 on august. (set the "use aperture ring" option to "permitted")

I want to test this lens, can you steer me on what kind of testing I can do to eveluate/compare this Manual focus lens... how it can make a difference compared to my other lense that does 200mm (i.e. a DA 50-200 F/4-5.6) for example ?

I also have access to those lenses : DA 18-45 1:4(22); DA 10-17 F/3.5-4.5 (fisheye) + Pentax -M 28mm F/2.8 + Pentax 50mm F/1.4 (old manual lens)+ Pentax Sigma 120-400mm + Sigma Macro 180mm F/3.5

I have taken a couple of shot with both (indoor low light conditions with a tripod) and cannot see big differences except maybe the manual lens seems to have less DOF ...

Thanks for you help...

Wee

02-03-2013, 01:50 AM   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I test my lenses as following:
- apertures x distances

normally i start with the middle aperture, like f5.6 or f8, and middle distance range. For 200mm, it should be 12-20 meters.
That to find the sweet spots of the lens.
02-03-2013, 02:08 AM   #3
Pentaxian

I would say just continue shooting with it. If you like it it's a good lens and a keeper and if you don't it's a bad choice for you. Lens rendition is very subjective.
02-03-2013, 02:26 AM   #4
Pentaxian

Just shoot it between f/2.5 and f/4 and see what kind of subject isolation you can get. You won't be able to duplicate that with any of those other lenses (except you might come close with the Sigma 180/3.5 macro).