Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-18-2013, 02:57 PM   #1

Infinity Focus with 18-135mm lens

Hey everyone,

I recently got a Pentax K5 II, and along with it came a wonderful lens, the "smc PENTAX-DA 18-135mm F3.5-5.6 ED AL[IF] DC WR" (PENTAX RICOH IMAGING CANADA INC. | smc PENTAX-DA 18-135mm F3.5-5.6 ED AL[IF] DC WR). Last night, I was attempting some shots of the stars, and was surprised to find no "infinity" symbol present on the lens. Is there a way to properly focus to infinity on the 18-135mm, or do I simply have to look through the view finder in the day, and attempt to set it to infinity by "ear"? Oh, also the focus rings "spins" a full 360 degrees, so there is no place to indicate where it infinity focus might actually be (i.e no friction). Thanks to everyone for the help, it's my first time posting!

-yogomo

02-18-2013, 03:02 PM   #2
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by yogomo Quote
Hey everyone,

I recently got a Pentax K5 II, and along with it came a wonderful lens, the "smc PENTAX-DA 18-135mm F3.5-5.6 ED AL[IF] DC WR" (PENTAX RICOH IMAGING CANADA INC. | smc PENTAX-DA 18-135mm F3.5-5.6 ED AL[IF] DC WR). Last night, I was attempting some shots of the stars, and was surprised to find no "infinity" symbol present on the lens. Is there a way to properly focus to infinity on the 18-135mm, or do I simply have to look through the view finder in the day, and attempt to set it to infinity by "ear"? Oh, also the focus rings "spins" a full 360 degrees, so there is no place to indicate where it infinity focus might actually be (i.e no friction). Thanks to everyone for the help, it's my first time posting!

-yogomo