Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-27-2008, 10:08 AM   #1

Photos: Gallery
Advice on a new lens - Bigma or something else?

Hi,

I've been using my K10D for about 6 months now (though not as much as I would like to) and have the Tamron 18-250 as my one and only lens.

I'm fast approaching my 40th birthday and it has been made known to me that friends and family are contributing to a pot to buy me a nice present - what would I like?

Well I would like a lens that is going to let me get close wildlife shots - birds and mammals and amphibians mainly. I also like to sit in the cafe's here and take natural people shots but often find that I cannot get the subjects 'close' enough with the Tamron.

Am I better asking for the Bigma (50-500) or should I be looking at something with a fixed focal length - seeing as the first 250mm of the Bigma is already covered by my Tamron.

I'm by no means an expert in photography - the K10D being my first SLR and I'm learning everyday.

Thanks,
Techno~

02-27-2008, 10:18 AM   #2
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by Techno~ Quote
Hi,

I also like to sit in the cafe's here and take natural people shots but often find that I cannot get the subjects 'close' enough with the Tamron.

Am I better asking for the Bigma (50-500) or should I be looking at something with a fixed focal length - seeing as the first 250mm of the Bigma is already covered by my Tamron.

Techno~

Sitting in a cafe pointing a bigma at people would be pretty funny, but it wouldn't get you many 'natural' shots. Unless you like pictures of people looking angry/concerned/frightened

SMC 200mm f/4 with 1.7x TC would give you 340mm of very good IQ on a pretty small lens. Good for the cafe, and would only run you about $120 or so. Then , get a bigma for the non-human wildlife for the rest of the gift.

02-27-2008, 10:29 AM   #3

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by jsherman999 Quote