Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-27-2008, 07:38 PM   #1

First time purchasing lens, need advice

Staff note: This post may contain affiliate links, which means Pentax Forums may earn a small commission if a visitor clicks through and makes a purchase. If you would like to support the forum directly, you may also make a donation here.

Hi guys, I have a k100d with the stock lens and I'm looking to buy an additional lens. I think I would be looking for something like f2.8 around 20-50mm or something of the like. I would like to use it for taking close range portraits and maybe some macro pictures with it. I don't know much about what kind of lens to look for but I am on a tight budget, so the cheaper the better (I'm a student so I'm not made of money). Looking for used, is buying on ebay OK? Where else would I want to look? I've scoped out the local camera shops around here and they don't seem to have anything unless I want to buy a new lens. Could someone recommend a brand/model? Thanks!

02-27-2008, 07:42 PM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
the tamron 28-75 F2.8 is a good quality lens, fast, and a little longer than what you have suggested, but very flattering for portraits.
02-27-2008, 07:44 PM   #3
Veteran Member

What is your budget? The max you are willing to spend? That will give us a better idea as to what to suggest for ya.
02-27-2008, 07:59 PM   #4

Original Poster