Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-28-2013, 05:27 PM   #1

difference in lenses

hello everyone,
first off, i feel so lost and confused. i can't seem to fathom the differences in many lenses such as the 15mm, 21mm, 35mm, 50mm, etc. i don't understand the different outcomes of the lenses. i'm sure this question is redundant, but i need clarification, thanks. next problem. i have a k30, with an 18-135 wr. it seems very practical for my usage, anything and everything. my first foray into photography was 30 plus years ago. i had a k1000 with only one lens, smc pentax-m 1:1.7 50mm. being a novice, i loved what the results were with that lens. i have since tried the lens on my k30. it recognizes when its in focus, a beep and the light, but it doesn't seem like it recognizes the different fstops, info is blank on setting. do i need to enable (disable) a certain setting?
thanks for listening,
charlie

02-28-2013, 05:37 PM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
This should help: https://www.pentaxforums.com/forums/pentax-beginners-corner-q/110658-using-ma...x-dslrs-f.html

Yes, you need to turn on a setting in the menu. It is "use aperture ring" or similar. Not sure what menu # it is on the k-30. Also you will need to use the camera in M mode and use stop down metering. All is explained in the article.
02-28-2013, 05:42 PM   #3

Original Poster
thanks, i'll give that a try
02-28-2013, 05:47 PM   #4
Pentaxian

All SMC-M will show F - - as the camera cannot determine the aperture without an electronic connection. That's one of the reasons that SMC-A are more popular here and will cost more than an SMC-M despite giving equally nice images (they also allow more automation since the camera can adjust the aperture).