Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-02-2008, 11:50 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
lenses to match style

I've been shooting "seriously" for a few years now (though dabbled on and off for over 30 years) and following a short dance with a K10d body (after my D70 got sick) with kit 18-55 and 100 macro, I'm starting clean slate.

Here's my "style" - hk08 - Page 1

I took these last week, where I had my Leica D-Lux3 and K10d with me. The reality is that almost all of these images are from the Leica. Part of that is just that I had the camera with me more, but I also just wasn't happy with what I was getting from the Pentax. I also was not impressed with the feel and build of the 100mm macro lens (or the kit lens but I don't expect much from that). Coming from a Nikkor 105 (pre-VR), the Pentax felt cheap and klunky.

While I wholeheartedly lay most of the blame at my feet/hands/eyes, I can get what I want with some setups (I don't shoot the Leica full auto, but rather in program mode and manually set iso all the time, and sometimes manually set aperture and/or shutter) so I think it is a combination of learning the tool as well as finding the one you bond with.

Given the way I shoot (or what I see), what would be your top couple of lenses to put on a K20d body? I could go back to Nikon and get a D300 but I really want to like the Pentax. I don't care about fps or nanosecond AF. In fact, I prefer to manual focus (and do it with the Leica often using the joystick). But I do want to use AF from time to time, and would like auto aperture.

I'm thinking an SMC A 50/1.4 or 1.7 for low light/indoors, a Voigtlander 125 macro (if I can find one), and maybe a * zoom? I hate to spend that much money right now, so I suppose the 16-45 could do in a pinch...

03-03-2008, 12:39 AM   #2
Veteran Member

I have no idea what lens you would need in the pentax world.