Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
04-05-2013, 09:04 PM   #31
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
If the lens is new, why not replace it?

btw.... r u a graduate student? saw the phdcomics on the wall...

04-05-2013, 09:15 PM   #32

Photos: Albums
Original Poster
@ Just1MoreDave

1 more question.
How about the FA, or F lens that have the aperture ring. The question is if I adjust the lever position, then can I still change the aperture manually via aperture ring correctly? Won't the size of diaphragm be wrong when I change aperture?

@Ikarus

Thanks Ikarus for your sharing!
04-05-2013, 09:18 PM   #33

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by LFLee Quote
If the lens is new, why not replace it?

btw.... r u a graduate student? saw the phdcomics on the wall...

I brought it used in like new condition. SO....
And, Yes, I'm a grad student.
04-06-2013, 12:41 AM   #34
Veteran Member

My copy of 40/2.8 XS, serial# 5024743 behaves the same way; no difference in exposure until f4.0. After which, stopping down each third stop shows the effect on the exposure by progressively getting darker.

04-06-2013, 01:01 AM   #35
Veteran Member

There's a much easier way to test this, you know.

Our eyes aren't terribly sensitive to a two thirds stop increment in brightness (particularly since the iris / brain compensates automatically) but the camera's metering system is.

So: point your camera at the wall, set mode to Av and set aperture to F2.8. The over/underexposure meter on your screen should be at the 0 position. Make a note of the shutter speed. Now turn the dial to "M". Set shutter speed to what it was on Av and change aperture to F3.5. The meter should now show that you're two thirds of a stop underexposed. If so, your theory is incorrect. If not, your theory is correct. Job done.
04-06-2013, 07:50 AM   #36

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by top-quark Quote
There's a much easier way to test this, you know.