Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-04-2013, 07:36 PM   #1

Photos: Albums
Time to start looking for M42 lenses...

Staff note: This post may contain affiliate links, which means Pentax Forums may earn a small commission if a visitor clicks through and makes a purchase. If you would like to support the forum directly, you may also make a donation here.

I was fortunate enough to grab an original Pentax brand M42 adapter off eBay for only $16 earlier tonight. There's just one problem... I don't have any M42 lenses yet.

So, that's going to be my next target and I wanted to see if you guys had some more good suggestions.

I'm fairly new to DSLR's, currently I have a Pentax K-30 with:
18-135mm WR
Pentax-A 50mm f/1.7
55-300mm (on the way)

I've also been thinking of something like a Pentax-A 28mm f/2.8 to have a wider prime.

The options I know about for M42 include:
1. Takumar lenses, lots of these including some wide angles, fast 50/55, and some cheap teles
2. Helios, I mainly know about the 44's
3. Jupiters, I almost bought a 9 recently

Beyond that, I don't really know too much about which brands/models are gems and which are poor quality.

I should say also that I'm not looking to spend that much since I haven't shot a fully manual lens yet. I'm happy to learn about some great stuff for later on but mainly I'm looking for great inexpensive lenses.

04-04-2013, 07:41 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I strongly encourage you to spend time wandering through the review section of M42 lenses. There are some real gems out there and once you learn the keys to using them on modern cameras they can be quite rewarding. A SuperTak 50/1.4 can be had relatively cheaply and can be a killer lens but there are LOTS of other brands that can be terrific too.
04-04-2013, 07:42 PM   #3
MSM
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery