Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-10-2013, 11:47 PM   #1
Forum Member

SMC PENTAX-M 1:1.4 50mm ASAHI OPT..Is it good lens to buy please suggest...

Staff note: This post may contain affiliate links, which means Pentax Forums may earn a small commission if a visitor clicks through and makes a purchase. If you would like to support the forum directly, you may also make a donation here.

Hello Everybody,

I am new to Pentax world, been looking around this forum to purchase Lenses but most of the for sale item ads are either grabbed before you could have a chance to buy them and some ads are quite confusing with multiple items being sold and hard to trace out from the owner if it is sold out or still available.

In such a scenario I keep looking at ebay, which seems to be last option when you have no other choice to look around.

I just got to win this lens from Ebay bid, does it look good for the price of $102 or the pics of the ad look worked out. How much should you be paying for similar lens on pentax forums or elsewhere. It lens cap says Made in Taiwan and on top of lens it says Made in Japan. Any thing alarming?

SMC Pentax M 1 1 4 50mm Asahi Opt Lens for Pentax 6723451 | eBay

Appreciate your response

Thanks
Sam

Last edited by samysarena; 04-10-2013 at 11:50 PM. Reason: added more detail.
04-11-2013, 12:14 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
There are better performers optically, though if you use a lens hood, or even a step-down ring(49->28mm), you'll get rather nice results. $102 is on the high end of normal for pricing, though.
04-11-2013, 12:20 AM   #3
Forum Member

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by Eulogy Quote
There are better performers optically, though if you use a lens hood, or even a step-down ring(49->28mm), you'll get rather nice results. $102 is on the high end of normal for pricing, though.