Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-19-2013, 11:32 AM   #1

Sigma Lense questions: 60-200mm F 1:4~5.6 & 28-70mm F 1:3.5~4.5

Greetings!

When my grandmother passed away she left me her K-1000. I have always had a soft spot for Pentax. I did a lot of research and decided on purchasing the K-30 with weather resistant lenses 18-52mm & 50-200mm. I'm new to the DSLR world and recently bought a bunch of older lenses. I cannot really find much information on one of the lenses in particular and I thought who better to ask but Pentax enthusiasts!

Does anyone own or have used a Sigma 60-200mm F 1:4~5.6? I cannot find any information on it anywhere. I also picked up a Sigma 28-70mm F 1:3.5~4.5. I'm curious of your thoughts toward these lenses. They both have Macro written on them. They are old and both are in good condition.

I appreciate any feedback or insight!

Thanks!

04-19-2013, 11:53 AM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I can't find much on the 60-200 in Pentax mount either. It does seem to have been issued in Minolta mount and there is some info out there on that. I also came across one post that implies it MIGHT have the Ricoh pin which makes lenses get stuck on Pentax cameras. That is not verified, but do be cautious.

This might be your 28-70 Sigma UC 28-70mm F3.5-4.5 Lens Reviews - Sigma Lenses - Pentax Lens Review Database but over time Sigma made a lot of different 28-70's so maybe not.

"Macro" on older zoom lenses really means "close focusing" not true Macro. It was mostly a marketing gimmick. It can be useful for flowers pictures and such but it is no where near what a real macro range will be. These are usually 1:5 or even 1:7 ratios. Macro is usually defined as at least 1:2 and better at 1:1
04-19-2013, 12:12 PM   #3

Original Poster