Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-21-2013, 07:26 PM   #1

Takumar 17mm Fisheye Question

Staff note: This post may contain affiliate links, which means Pentax Forums may earn a small commission if a visitor clicks through and makes a purchase. If you would like to support the forum directly, you may also make a donation here.

I'm looking at buying a Takumar 17mm fisheye lens and have noticed there are Super Multi Coated, and what appears top be non multi coated. Is one much more preferred over the other, or will either do ?

To make things worse, an auction just ended today for a SMC model on ebay for $222.50, but my phone didn't get my bid in on time

Asahi Super Multi Coated Fish Eye Takumar 17mm F 4 M42 Excellent Condition | eBay

I welcome all input, as I am a novice at most of this.

04-21-2013, 07:47 PM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Here is the info page: S-M-C/Super Fish-Eye-Takumar 17mm F4 Reviews - M42 Screwmount Extreme Wide-Angle Primes - Pentax Lens Reviews & Lens Database
04-21-2013, 07:51 PM   #3
Veteran Member

SMC has an extra coating, which is said to minimize flare, which leads to better contrast.
How much of a difference it makes when you're out shooting in the real world and how noticeable it is is pretty hard to say as things can be done to reduce flare and up the contrast (for example, using a lens hood or fixing in post-processing).

If it were me, personally, I would not jump for the SMC if there was a big price difference between the two. If they were priced similarly, then I'd probably lean towards the SMC.

EDIT: Notice that the link jatrax posted is for both the SMC and regular version.
One person notes, "It does exhibit some flare even in the Super-Multi-Coated version."
04-21-2013, 08:10 PM   #4
Site Supporter
Site Supporter