Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-27-2013, 02:38 PM   #1
Inactive Account

Zeiss contax lenses for my K30

hello everyone,

I'm currently studying in the us for a semester and i invested in a Pentax k30 with the 18-55 DAL kit lens.
i've to say that this camera is great and i've had lot of fun in the last past months.

However i was thinking of investing in the Pentax 35mm f2.4 as a first ( cheap) prime lens.

BUT, while i was spkyping with my father ( who is in frnace right know) i realized that he has three great Carl Zeis Contax lenses:

distagon 2.8/28 t*
sonner 2.8/135 t*
planar 1.4/50 t*

i spend quite a long time on the internet trying to figure out what to do and i need some wise advises.

Indeed:
* for 58 leitax ( Leica & Pentax & Nikon | Leitax) is selling a ring but i'm quite afraid by the work i'll have to do on the lenses.
*for 108 leitax can plug the ring for me
* Or i can sell these lense and by one or two great pentax lenses ( 35mm or 50 mm).

What should i do?

04-27-2013, 03:49 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Personally, as legendary as Zeiss is, I'd say Pentax would take the cake if you're buying limited primes. Zeiss has too cold of a rendition for me, to be honest.
04-27-2013, 05:29 PM   #3
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
One thing is sure, those lenses will probably hold their value and performance over the years.
04-27-2013, 05:58 PM   #4
Kiwi Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by Victor et George Quote
i spend quite a long time on the internet trying to figure out what to do and i need some wise advises.
I have fitted a Leitax to a Leica R 90mm f2.8.

When you read on the net the process looks a bit scary - in reality, as long as you take it slowly, carefully and step by step it is not too bad at all.

The best thing about a Leitax conversion is as long as you keep all the pieces it is fully reversible should you ever want to in the future.