Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-03-2013, 11:38 AM   #1
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
Milky spot in snaps

I have a problem with my 80-200mm f4.5 pre-AI Nikkor lens. I use a Fotodiox adapter so it can be used on my K-01. Depending on circumstances, sometimes this spot is visible, and sometimes not. There is something on the inside of the front element, about 1mm long with a width of maybe 20% of the length. Other than that, the glass looks good to me (but I'm not very good with lenses) Any suggestions please? thank you

Attached Images
View Picture EXIF
PENTAX K-01  Photo 

Last edited by Banskojoe; 05-03-2013 at 01:51 PM.
05-03-2013, 12:18 PM   #2
Pentaxian

Maybe dust, fungus, oil (probably not in this spot). a picture would help.
05-03-2013, 01:51 PM   #3
Site Supporter

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by bdery Quote
Maybe dust, fungus, oil (probably not in this spot). a picture would help.
Sorry. Still new at this. Thought I had posted the snap the first time.
05-03-2013, 02:15 PM   #4
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
With the lens off the camera, look into the lens while shining a torch into the lens from the other end.
If it has dust or fungus etc. it will show up. Can you post a photo of what you see ?

05-03-2013, 02:35 PM   #5
Pentaxian

A foreign object as small as described in the OP would be unlikely to show that effect, in my opinion.

Honestly, what I think I'm seeing in that picture could be just plain ol' lens flare. It looks like the sun is just out-of-frame, and the sky is blown out.

Older lenses like that Pre-AI don't necessarily have great flare-rejecting coatings. So use a hood -- if you don't already -- and don't expect good results if you shoot into the sun.