Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-14-2013, 05:02 PM   #1

Will this lens work with my K5?

I am new to venturing into trying older lenses and need information. Is this a Pentax mount? I'm still learning and was not sure. (see photo) This lens is a Tokina RMC 1:4.5 80-200mm. Will it be compatible with my K5? I realize the older lenses must be used in manual mode. I would appreciate your thoughts on this lens. Thank you!

Attached Images

05-14-2013, 05:08 PM   #2
Site Supporter

Photos: Albums
Looks like it will!
05-14-2013, 05:27 PM   #3
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Look like K mount. And the "P/K" stamp makes it a sure thing.

Is this yours: Tokina 80-200mm f3.5-4.5 RMC Lens Reviews - Tokina Lenses - Pentax Lens Review Database
05-14-2013, 05:29 PM   #4
Ole
Administrator

That lens will work like any Pentax K or M-series lens. Manual focus, manual ("Green button") exposure.

Remember to set the custom function 27 "Using aperture ring" to "Permitted". You can just leave it at that setting.

The in M exposure mode, set the aperture on the aperture ring, push the green button to have the camera set the matching shutter speed, shoot!

05-14-2013, 05:36 PM   #5

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by jatrax Quote
Look like K mount. And the "P/K" stamp makes it a sure thing.

Is this yours: Tokina 80-200mm f3.5-4.5 RMC Lens Reviews - Tokina Lenses - Pentax Lens Review Database
It is this one: Tokina 80-200mm f/4.5 RMC Lens Reviews - Tokina Lenses - Pentax Lens Review Database. Well, $20 at the Goodwill. Looks to be in excellent shape. We'll see.... so using these lenses will not harm my DSLR in anyway....right?
05-14-2013, 05:37 PM   #6

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by Ole Quote
That lens will work like any Pentax K or M-series lens. Manual focus, manual ("Green button") exposure.