Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-19-2013, 09:16 AM   #1

Am I Crazy (5dii just for T/S)?

Staff note: This post may contain affiliate links, which means Pentax Forums may earn a small commission if a visitor clicks through and makes a purchase. If you would like to support the forum directly, you may also make a donation here.

Hey everyone

I have been interested in Tilt Shift photography ever since I started shooting landscapes, however, there are no tilt AND shift lenses for Pentax. The new Samyang may solve this but it would be too narrow (35mm equiv) on my K5iis. This is why I'm thinking about buying a used 5Dmkii and a Mark ONE 24mm TS-E lens. I could pair a new Pentax FF w/ the Samyang, but the ff will be out of my price range and the samyang is twice the price of a used 24L1. Is this the easiest way for a Pentaxian to get into FF T/S?

05-19-2013, 09:31 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
That sounds pretty drastic.

Tilt shift lenses for K-mount (and m42) do exist. Schneider-Kreuznach makes them (expensive, high quality), as does Arsat (not as expensive, Soviet quality). Lens baby has some pseudo-T/S, but it has a very specific use.
Then there are adapters. Quite a few companies make adapters that use 645 (and 67, and pentacon six) lenses and put them onto Kmount. I'm not sure about their names, but a quick search on these forums should give you some ideas. There are even some people who made DIY TS adapters, but I'm not sure how successful they are.

All I'm saying is, the choice isn't as limited as it may seem, even though Pentax doesn't make any TS lenses
05-19-2013, 09:34 AM   #3
Veteran Member

He's looking for something close to fullframe &24mm... which means his options are limited. 15mm on the APS-C is tough with T/S. I'm not aware of any solution.
05-19-2013, 09:42 AM   #4
Pentaxian

This looks like about the best you can do...

One of these.....