Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-22-2013, 03:35 PM   #1
Site Supporter

Portrait Lens Dilemma. Advice needed!

Believe me when I say I looked for hours for a straight answer on this and looked through tons of sample shots without getting any closer to the answer that I am looking for.

For starters, I am primarily a landscape photographer and all of my lens purchases have kept that in mind. As such, I am generally not searching for lenses with a narrow DOV.

Well, it just so happens that I have had several requests from friends to do wedding/couples shoots. I will primarily be doing full body shots and need to keep the DOF to a minimum in order to isolate the subjects from the background. My choice would have been much easier if the couples were looking for closer up shots, but after reviewing the example shots that they sent me, this is not the case. Unfortunately, none of my lenses are capable of doing this (I own a Sigma 10-20, Sigma 17-70, Pentax DA 15, and Tamron 70-200 2.8). The closest would be the Tamron, but in order to get a full body shot I must be so far away that I am nearly focused at infinity anyway which does not help with creating a creamy background.

I know there will not be one perfect lens, but my question is this: Which lens would allow full body shots with a relatively narrow DOV and minimal distortion that is often associated with closer lenses?

My three main options are:

1. Pentax FA 77. Currently my Tamron at 2.8 cannot create enough background blur, so I am unsure if 1.8 would be enough to help me out here?

2. Pentax FA 43. Because I can get closer to the subject while keeping the aperature at 1.9, I may be able to isolate them fairly well. Unfortunately, this is generally considered a shorter focal length for portraits so I was unsure if distortion would be an issue?