Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-15-2008, 12:56 PM   #1

Kit lense or other?

Looking to pick up my first DSLR and am planning on the K100D Super. There are a few
local shops that still have some, both body only and with kit lense. Price difference is about
$90.00 or so. I'm new to photography, but want to start out with a decent lense, I've read some reviews on the kit lense which were mostly gooD ratings. I don't mind spending a little extra for a good lense that I can use.

I mainly want to shoot auto photgraphy (stationary) and also plan on using it for my trip later this year to Hong Kong and the Phillipines. I was wondering if the Pentax SMCP-FA 50mm f/1.4 Lens would do well in this?

Thanks for any input

03-15-2008, 01:39 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
if you're new to dslr and are used to using a P&S with zoom, then just get the kit lens and shoot away. After you figure out what you like and what sort of focal lengths work for you, then buy other lenses.

The 50mm will be an ok "everyday" lens but if you're used to being able to zoom you might get frustrated. The advantage to that lens is that it is fast (ie you can use it in low light with better results) but your field of view is...your field of view. If you want to change the composition you need to walk. I think that is a great exercise (pun intended), but often not the most convenient on vacation.

Speaking of Hong Kong, here are some shots from my recent trip to HK if you're interested. Most were taken with a Leica D-Lux 3 which has an effective 28-100mm zoom. The kit lens has an effective 27-83mm zoom. The 50mm is a 75mm effective view. A few of the shots are K10d with 100mm macro.

hk08 - Page 1
03-15-2008, 01:44 PM   #3
Ash
Community Manager
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
By auto photography, do you mean stationary cars, or do you mean shooting in Auto mode?