Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
06-21-2013, 11:42 PM   #1

Torn between Normals, 30mm vs 28mm

Hey Pentaxians,

I recently came up on an amazing deal on Craigslist and am not quite sure what I want to do with one of the lenses I scored.
I've been looking for a good "normal" APS-C lens and the Sigma 30mm f/1.4 was definitely at the top of my wishlist.
At the same time, I scored an immaculate Pentax-F 28mm f/2.8

Question is:
Keep the 28, or flip it and try to find a 30

I do plan on shooting the 28 a bit to see if I like it. I have no experience with the 30mm 1.4, but my fast 50 (A 1.4) is one of my favorite lenses.
Advice appreciated

06-22-2013, 12:06 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
I have owned both.

The Sigma is notorious for needing focus adjustment. Mine did, and it was sharpest at what seemed to be a setting between one of the set adjustments. Since the DOF was razor thin, it bothered me knowing that I could never get it to 99% sharpness through my camera alone. Sigma Canada has a brutal repair service. I have read that Sigma USA has excellent customer service, but I still think it's ridiculous to have to send a lens in to get it perfect. The Sigma was also fat, like a fist. Again, I could never see its supposed "diamond-cutter sharpness" in the center, but I could see its brutal corners and wonky bokeh bubbles.

I sold it at a loss, and I'm happy that all of the minor things that bothered me about it were no longer my problem. The buyer seemed happy with it though, and there are plenty of Sigma fanboys here on the forums, so to each their own.