Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-17-2008, 10:00 AM   #1
Inactive Account

Another Macro lens thread...Pentax questions

I am looking to do some closeup photogrqaphy as well and was almost set to purchase a Pentax D-FA 100mm f/2.8 Macro lens. I figured I would take the chance and post a WTB in the Marketplace section.

Sure enough someone offered to sell me a Pentax F-SMC 100mm f/2.8 lens.

I'm not an expert so if someone can help me out here and explain what the differences are and possibly tell me why one would be better over the other I would appreciate and advice or input.

Thank you,

03-17-2008, 01:34 PM   #2
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by Sprags Quote
I am looking to do some closeup photogrqaphy as well and was almost set to purchase a Pentax D-FA 100mm f/2.8 Macro lens. I figured I would take the chance and post a WTB in the Marketplace section.

I'm not an expert so if someone can help me out here and explain what the differences are and possibly tell me why one would be better over the other I would appreciate and advice or input.

Thank you,
The F lens does not have the autoexposure electrical contacts, and therefor will work the same as a K or M lens. Manual Exposure only, but it will autofocus.
03-17-2008, 02:05 PM   #3

Actually, F lenses will support all functions on DSLRs. The only thing you lose to the DFA is quickshift focusing (manual focusing in AF mode).

The F version is much heavier and larger (and more solid as a result), but qualitywise there's really not much between the two. It also has a focusing limiter which makes it more flexible in shooting since you can restrict it to macro distances or normal distances. The DFA has to hunt through its entire range.

QuoteOriginally posted by Sprags Quote

Thank you,
03-17-2008, 02:10 PM   #4
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
QuoteOriginally posted by Canada_Rockies Quote