Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-08-2013, 03:40 PM   #1
Inactive Account

Pentax vs Nikon & Canon Lenses: a hypothesis?

Hi,

I'm new to Pentax and to this forum and thank god for the latter in helping me understand the former!

I've been shooting a Canon EOS 300 for the past 10 years or so and I'm only really upgrading to digital because of the development costs of film. I have been researching which system to buy into and based on my research, I think I've developed a theory which I'd like to put to the forum for agreement or rebuttal, but definitely for discussion.

My tentative theory is twofold:

First, for the enthusiast photographer who appreciates quality but can't afford to go to full frame, Pentax offers one of the best cameras in terms of getting a good quality machine for a good price; i.e. the Pentax K-5, which is now retailing for £449 body only (that's about $675, though I haven't actually checked prices in the US, only in the UK and imported to the UK from Hong Kong). A competitor camera from Nikon would probably be the D7000 but that is retailing for £505 in Hong Kong and much more in the UK. Similarly, the Canon 60D is much more expensive than £449. I am deliberately not comparing the K-5II to the D7100 and the Canon 70D, because although the K-5II looks awesome, although it's obviously more improved than the K-5, IMHO I am not sure it is worth the large difference in price (£110 at least). If one looks at the IQ results on DXOmark.com one sees that K-5 beats most cameras at its price point, and even beats quite a few over its price point. Comparing the specs on snapsort.com one also sees that the K5 is pretty current, despite being a couple of years old. Okay so it doesn't have built in GPS and wifi, but not every photographer needs that.