Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-19-2013, 05:25 PM   #1
Forum Member

Photos: Albums
Do Weather Resistant Lenses also prevent dust

So as I am new to SLR lenses and have been looking at used lenses for sale I've wondered how dust was getting into peoples lenses outside of the manufacturing process. Recently I've been reading some people commenting on zoom lenses getting dust in them after doing lots of zooming in and out.
So, my question is, do weather resistant lenses prevent dust from getting into the lenses just as they would prevent water from getting in?
I'm not sure on the architecture of these WR lenses and so I'm just trying to understand all the benefits they provide. Seems like this would be a big benefit.
What other ways does dust find its way into lenses other than through zooming and focussing. I'm assuming Internal Focus lenses would have less problems in this regard also.

Thanks in advance for thoughts.
Brian

07-19-2013, 05:53 PM   #2
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
On zoom lenses each time you zoom air moves in or out. If it did not you would not be able to zoom. So in a dusty environment, yes dust goes in and often stays in. WR lenses are supposed to be 'resistant' to this but not 'proof', so it is still possible to get dust in the lens although less likely than in a non-WR lens. Dust in a zoom lens is essentially inevitable, it will happen eventually. And generally it is not a big problem or even noticeable in images.
07-19-2013, 06:37 PM   #3
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
What jatrax said...