Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-25-2013, 10:06 AM   #1

Best Focal Length for macro work

I’m fairly new to DSLR cameras so excuse any ignorance I may show in the following question. I have tried to do a search on this subject but without success; if I have missed something again I am sorry – please point me in the right direction.

I am looking for a macro lens to photograph historic coins – specifically Roman Denarii, which are about 18mm in diameter, and silver in colour. Due to their age they tend to be badly worn, so the key attribute of any lens has to be sharpness; I do not want to lose what little definition remains in the coins. I intend to photograph indoors, using a tripod and natural light from a window to the side (to maximise shadows and hence improve the perception of the highs and lows on the faces of the coins)

Would a shorter focal length (eg the 35mm limited) give better or worse results than longer (eg 100mm DFA macro)? What are the relative advantages and disadvantages of each when it comes to shooting small items that do not move in a controlled environment?

I doubt I will be doing much insect shooting, so the longer closest focus distance of the 100mm is not an advantage. I do not use either focal length more than the other at present (using the kit lenses on my K-r) so please ignore the strengths and weaknesses of each lens for other purposes.

This will be my first prime.

Any ideas?

07-25-2013, 10:12 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
A shorter minimum focus distance can be annoying even in a controlled environment when dealing with lighting.
07-25-2013, 10:17 AM   #3
Otis Memorial Pentaxian
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
have you tried macro filters...would be alot cheaper then a macro lens
07-25-2013, 10:31 AM   #4
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
Extension tubes are worth a thy. They can be had for less than $10 on ebay.