Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-10-2013, 05:56 PM   #1

28mm A Lens Question

Hi all,
I just received a 28mm F2.8 A lens and the lens is in great shape except for two things, one is that on the rear lens element there's a slight
scratch which I think it's a coating scratch, I took a few pictures tonight and so far I don't see anything amiss no flare or other distortion. The next
thing is the aperture ring is stiff, which isn't a problem for me because I'm using it on my K20D, any thoughts on this.

P

08-10-2013, 06:12 PM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Small scratches often don't cause too much problem, if you don't notice a problem I would not worry about. I have read about people using black marker to cover the scratch and reduce flare. But I have never tried it so do some research before you do anything.

If you are using the lens in 'A' mode then stiffness in the aperture ring is immaterial. I've had lenses that it was very difficult to turn the ring but they worked loose as you used them. I would suspect dried grease. But leave it on 'A' and don't worry about it. The focus helicoid on the other hand should work smoothly or I would not accept keep it.
08-10-2013, 06:17 PM   #3

Original Poster
The Focusing ring is smooth as silk That's what I love about the Pentax lenses, I don't know about black marker, I have done that on the black metal parts not on the lens itself.

P
08-10-2013, 06:30 PM   #4
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

QuoteOriginally posted by jatrax Quote
Small scratches often don't cause too much problem, if you don't notice a problem I would not worry about. I have read about people using black marker to cover the scratch and reduce flare. But I have never tried it so do some research before you do anything.