Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-10-2013, 09:29 PM   #1

Newbie - need advice indoor wide angle group shot

Dear Pentaxians

I am an amateur photographer and was ask to do a favor and take a group picture (about 25 people) inside. Went a few days prior and took some practice shots with my setup to adjust for flash and lens. But after taking the group picture I am not happy with the way it turned out, they appreciated it and like the picture but I felt it was not sufficiently sharp.

Here is my camera equipment I used:

Pentax K20d with 16-45/f4 and Metz 48 flash
Didn't use my tripod, (actually in practice didn't see any improvement.)

I need to take another picture in two weeks and want to try to improve the sharpness of the next group picture, here is my question: (sorry for long lead)
Should I consider a faster wide angle lens? But won't that reduce my depth of field and I have to stop it down, what have I gained. I have always wanted the 16-50/f2.8 but have not been able to purchase. I am considering maybe a fast prime is better than a wide angle zoom? I would like to be able to use the lens for landscapes and occasional indoor photo's.

I have read a lot of online reviews and haven't been able to be decisive about the lens, but like the Sigma 20/1.8f, or Sigma 10-20/3.5f. What are your suggestions?

08-10-2013, 10:44 PM   #2
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
16-45 is pretty good. 16-50 is faster, WR and should be a touch sharper but maybe not a huge amount. I doubt the problem is your lens, either technique or lighting or settings.

What focal length was the shot taken at? And what aperture? Primes are generally sharper but not many available wider than 20mm.
08-11-2013, 12:23 AM   #3
Site Supporter

Photos: Albums
How Deep?

Hello cbowman, welcome to the Forum!
Sounds like your problem is depth of field, and a faster lens won't help that.