Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-18-2013, 10:13 AM   #1

SMC-F 4,5/300 price

I'm relatively new to Pentax. As I was looking for some high qualiy lenses, I
stumbled upon this 4,5 300 SMC-F on ebay.
As the seller only lives 50 miles from here, I visited him to get a look at
the article. The lens seems to be in a fine condition, but unfortunately I
couldn't test it, since I forgot my camera. I bid 800 Euro, but he wants
more. I asked in a German pentax forum -- the others said, 800 Euro were a
reasonable price. Would you pay more?

08-18-2013, 05:03 PM   #2
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I'd say that's reasonable, as it should be cheaper than the DA* 300mm.

Adam
PentaxForums.com Webmaster (Site Usage Guide | Site Help | My Photography)

PentaxForums.com's high server and development costs are user-supported. You can help cover those costs by donating. Or, buy your photo gear from our affiliates, Adorama, B&H Photo, or Topaz Labs, and get FREE Marketplace access - click here to see how! Trusted Pentax retailers:

08-18-2013, 05:23 PM   #3
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
Welcome to the Forums. The F* is the pick of the Pentax 300 lenses, in my opinion, as it's the lightest and smallest, and it has a detachable tripod foot as well as a non-detachable sliding hood. It uses the Pentax screw-drive for AF, though, so if low noise is a major requirement, you probably should be looking at the DA*300. As Adam has said, it should be priced under the DA*300, which is the best way to look at prices, as the pricing structures differ from country to country.

I like my F*300 - I don't regard the AF noise (it isn't that noisy, in my opinion) as a problem for my purposes.
08-19-2013, 02:47 PM   #4
Pentaxian

Hi Landscape,

At current rates, 800 Euro = @ $1067 USD, and I'd say this is a reasonably fair price for either the F* or FA * 300/4.5, but the F* must include the tripod foot for this to be the case, IMO.