Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-03-2013, 04:53 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Anyone shoot motorsports/ machinery?

If so, what are you using? I have been going to races and working on my own projects for a long time but have never stopped to take actual, good photos of the goings on. What do you like to carry with you/ use?

09-03-2013, 11:10 PM   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I've been doing motorcycle ice racing for a couple of years. Last year I had my best results with a MF K300/4. Why manual? I kept loosing focus when the snow and ice get flying. I would get my spot on a turn, get my tripod set and pretty much fire away as the riders came out of the turn. A long lens is a must. There may be some some places where you can get close but I prefer to be away from flying debris and dust, snow, etc.

09-04-2013, 01:10 AM   #3
Tas
Site Supporter

I've been capturing some images at motorcycle road racing at a local track using the DA*300 and a Zeiss 2/100. I'd love to have a 200, but have yet to pick up the DA*200. As an interim solution I use a 2x converter with the Zeiss 100 and occasionally on the DA*300. I've also tried panning shots using a Zeiss 1.4/85. I use a combination of manual and auto focus, high speed multiple exposure, and declare myself at the very start of learning to capture motor racing images. My next challenge will be to track down some motocross to hopefully get closer and work on different challenges whilst waiting for more road racing near home.

Here's two images with the DA*300

And two images captured with the manual focus Zeiss 2/100

I also like to capture stuff behind the scenes so wider is handy for those. I like to cart around my other Zeiss lenses to tracks, here's some examples of stuff behind the scenes:

Firstly with a Zeiss 2.8/25

And with a Zeiss 2/35