Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-03-2013, 08:23 PM   #1

Photos: Gallery
Good travel lens for a new DSLR owner

Hi all,
In anticipation of a big trip overseas I splurged and got a K-50, my first DSLR. Since I'm new to all this and hopping on a plane in 2-1/2 weeks, I'm not sure I'll have the time to do all the research that I really want to do and still have a chosen lens arrive on-time. With that said, I would greatly appreciate any advice, wisdom and experiences with good all-around lenses.

While I'm traveling I expect to be in the city looking at architecture and statues, out in the country shooting some landscapes and taking some pictures of new (and old) friends I meet along the way. I realize finding a single lens that excels in all those areas may be a pipe-dream, but if I can find one that is "pretty good" I'll be happy.

The Sigma 18-250mm DC Macro HSM has caught my eye as Sigma seems well respected, this lens seems to cover most anything I might want to do and it's decently priced. Anyone have any thoughts on this lens as a one-stop shop to use while traveling? Any other lenses you'd suggest I look at instead?

Thanks!

10-03-2013, 08:33 PM   #2
Pentaxian

If you are in the city, you will appreciate something a bit wider than 18mm. I've found the 12-24 is a really handy focal length on vacations. Not cheap. A 15mm Limited prime, also not cheap, is quite compact and would be a handy complement to an 18-250.
10-03-2013, 09:11 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
If you're trying to watch your budget, or don't want to make any hasty decisions, try the 18-250 and buy a cheap wide angle filter/adapter/converter thing.
Neewer has a .45x on Amazon for about $25 that will convert the 18mm to about 8. The quality will probably be very low compared to a real wide-angle lens, but you're only out a small amount of money and you don't have to mess around with changing lenses.