Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-13-2013, 10:27 AM   #1
Veteran Member

Da 21 help needed

hey guys hope all is well.
i have recently acquired a da 21 and was pretty excited... until i started shooting it.
i am using a k-5 IIs. no lenses i have ever used with it needed any af adjustment. the thing shoots great as is.
so basically i went out and did a walk around with my new lens.
i didn't like the images on the rear lcd and i still don't like them now that i have uploaded them onto my computer.
i am using an ips monitor so everything is cool here.
the reason to be unhappy - the quality of the shots is just not there.
no matter what f stop i used the images are soft as hell. i went up to f 11 and still no luck.
tried focus adjustments. nothing. shot af, mf, live view - still the same.

here are a few shots straight out of the camera. it's just i'm looking at the sample shots from other people and mine are nowhere near.
so i would greatly appreciate anyone with a good da 21 copy to please have a look and let me know if yours is similar or different.
thanks guys.

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/32746869/photo-4.DNG

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/32746869/photo-5.DNG

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/32746869/photo-6.DNG

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/32746869/photo-8.DNG

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/32746869/photo-21.DNG

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/32746869/photo-22.DNG

10-13-2013, 10:50 AM   #2

I dont own a DA 21 but those files look OK. Wide angle images wont look as sharp as normal/tele lenses. Looking at Photozine pictures they look similar.

The DA 21 is not one of the sharpest lenses but acceptable sharp. Photos on the internet are usually resized thats why they look sharper.
10-13-2013, 11:24 AM   #3
Veteran Member

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by striker_ Quote